Questions regarding additional assessor

The additional Assessor is being appointed to help the claims process move more quickly by conducting interviews.  One of the most time-consuming aspects of the claims process is interviewing claimants located across Canada.

The parties initially estimated that there would be approximately 1,000 claimants under the Merlo Davidson Settlement Agreement.  At the end of the extended claims period the Office of the Independent Assessor had received over 3,100 claims. The claims process, and staffing of the Office, was based on the original estimate.  With over three times as many claims as anticipated, the Independent Assessor determined that he required assistance to ensure that the claims process proceeded as expeditiously as possible. The parties agreed to Ms. Smith’s appointment and it was approved by the Federal Court, as required by Article 6.03 of the Settlement Agreement.

The Honourable Lynn Smith, Q.C. is a former judge of the British Columbia Supreme Court.  > For more information

No.  The Honourable Michel Bastarache, C.C., Q.C. remains the Independent Assessor responsible for the administration of the claims process and for the assessment of claims.  He will continue to conduct the paper review of all claim files and will identify those that meet the criteria for an interview.  He will also continue to conduct interviews across Canada.

Questions regarding claim process

If you have not yet received a letter or email confirming receipt of your claim you should contact our office via info@merlodavidson.ca or at 1-844-348-0776.

Claims are being assigned in chronological order, unless there has been a request to expedite the claim that is supported by medical information.  Claims from mid- January 2018 are currently being assigned to lawyers for preliminary review.  You will be notified by email when your file is assigned.

All claimants, in addition to their completed and witnessed claim form and declaration, must provide: a copy of government issued photo identification; a signed and witnessed Certification of No Prior Compensation and a Direction and Authorization to Disclose Information.

If you have not included all these documents in your claim package you should upload them to your secure online account or mail them to our Office as soon as possible.

When your file is assigned, the reviewing lawyer will verify if all the necessary documents are on file.  If they are not all there, he or she will contact you and ask you to provide the missing documentation.  The review of your file will only begin once all of the mandatory documents have been received.

Certification of No Prior Compensation and the Authorization forms are available on our website.

The online system is case sensitive. Please ensure that you are using the password in the same configuration(same letters capitalized or in lower case) that you entered at the outset. If this is not the problem and the password reset function is not working, please contact our office at: info@merlodavidson.ca

Once your claim has been assigned for review, the reviewing lawyer will review the file for completeness, ensure that you are a primary class member and that you have not opted out or received prior compensation.  He or she will send you an email confirming that your file has been assigned.  The file is then sent on to the Independent Assessor who will review your claim form and make an assessment based on the incidents and information that you have provided.

Claims may be expedited where medical concerns require a faster resolution of the claim.  To request that your file be expedited you must send a request by email or in writing to our Office along with supporting medical documentation.

The staff lawyer responsible for your file will contact you when your file is to be scheduled for an interview.

The interview is a non-adversarial process that allows claimants to tell their story to the Assessor, who may also ask questions to clarify any elements of the claim that are not evident from the claim form.  It is not a cross examination.  The interview is informal and is not designed to re-victimize claimants. To the contrary, the interview is intended to give claimants an opportunity to discuss their experiences and how it has impacted their lives.  Besides the claimant and any support person the claimant may choose to bring (who cannot be a lawyer), only the Assessor and one of the staff lawyers are present at the interview.  In most cases, the interview lasts approximately one hour.

Claimants who are required to travel more than 50 kilometres to attend an interview may request reimbursement of their travel expenses by submitting a completed Travel Claim Form. The Settlement Agreement states that the rates set out in the National Joint Council Travel Directive are applicable.

Please provide receipts for taxis, transportation, parking, hotel, ferries etc.  Receipts for meals are not required as this is calculated on a “per diem” basis.  The NJC Travel Directive sets out the rates per kilometre for transportation by car.

We also ask that you reference your file number on your travel claim form and in any communications with the Office of the Independent Assessor related to your travel claim.

Travel claims may be sent by mail or uploaded onto your file (please notify counsel assigned to your file if you upload a travel claim).

The travel expenses of any person accompanying a claimant are not reimbursable.

 

The Office of the Independent Assessor is responsible for paying compensation to claimants under the Settlement Agreement.  To do so, the Independent Assessor makes a request for funds from the RCMP at the end of each calendar month.  It takes up to seven business days for the money to be received by the Independent Assessor.  After the money has been deposited in the Independent Assessor’s trust account, the Independent Assessor issues cheques to the claimants whose files were decided in the previous calendar month.  For example, a claimant who is interviewed at the beginning of May, can expect to receive her decision and compensation by the middle of the next month, June.

Similarly, a travel claim that is received at the beginning of a calendar month will only be paid in the following month.  In general, we advise claimants that payment will take approximately 6 weeks.

If a claimant is represented, the decision letter and cheque will be sent to her lawyer, who is then responsible for communicating with the claimant.

 

In the May 30, 2017 Settlement Approval Order, the Federal Court awarded class counsel fees of 15% plus applicable taxes.  Accordingly, every award of compensation under the Settlement Agreement has 15% (plus applicable taxes) deducted from the total amount of compensation identified by the Settlement Agreement.  This amount is deducted even if you are represented by another lawyer.

 

 

Questions regarding the decisions rendered

The Independent Assessor is bound by the definitions and eligibility requirements in the Settlement Agreement; he cannot decide to award compensation when a claim does not fall within the scope of the Settlement Agreement. In most instances, if you received a letter refusing compensation it is because your claim did not meet one or more of the requirements of the Settlement Agreement which are:

  • that the claimant demonstrate that it is more likely than not that the alleged events occurred and, if so, if they occurred in, or in relation to, the workplace, between September 16, 1974 and May 30, 2017;
  • that the events found to have occurred constitute harassment within the definition set out in article 1.01 of the Settlement Agreement, that is, more specifically, they are the result of gender or sexual orientation-based discrimination or harassment;
  • That the nature and severity of harm suffered by the claimant was caused or contributed to by the gender or sexual orientation-based workplace harassment and not some other incident such as a personal life event or non-gender or sexual orientation-based harassment; and
  • That the level of compensation to be awarded is in accordance with Appendix 7 of Schedule B of the Settlement Agreement.

The Settlement Agreement also provides that: “the Assessor may deny any claim as unproven or on the basis that the events do not constitute harassment.”  If the incidents described in your claim are not sufficiently serious to meet the threshold of harassment or are not clearly linked to your gender or sexual-orientation, the claim will be denied.

Other grounds on which a claim will be denied are:

  • The claimant has submitted more than one claim form.
  • The claimant has received prior financial compensation for the same incidents.
  • The claimant is not, or was not, at the time of the harassment, a primary class member. For example, the claimant is male, the claimant is deceased, or the claimant was not a regular member, civilian member or public servant as defined in the Settlement Agreement.
  • The claimant has opted out or has been deemed to have opted out by not discontinuing related litigation.
  • The person responsible for harassment was not an employee of the RCMP, i.e. was a consultant or a member of the public.

If you received a decision that does not award you compensation, it means that the Assessor has reviewed your claim, as required by the Settlement Agreement, and found that one or more elements required by the Settlement Agreement have not been met or established. The Assessor is bound by the Settlement Agreement to deny these claims.

All final assessments are made by the Independent Assessor after reviewing all the information and evidence provided by the Claimant.  This review is based solely on the information and evidence provided by the claimant.  Incidents and injuries that you do not clearly included in your claim form cannot not be considered in the assessment of your claim.

The Independent Assessor assesses claims in accordance with the levels of culpable conduct, injury and compensation found in the Settlement Agreement.

Your claim was found to fall within level 1 or 2 based on the conduct and injury you identified in your claim form.

The claims process established by the Settlement Agreement requires the Independent Assessor to make a preliminary paper-based determination of the level of a claim, based on the documentary information provided to him.

Only claims that have been preliminarily assessed at level 3 or higher are given an interview. This is consistent with the goal of proportionality agreed to by the representative plaintiffs and the RCMP. The assessment of a claim was not to be more complicated and expensive than the amount of the resulting award.

Claims that are preliminarily assessed at levels 1 and 2 are assessed on a paper basis. If the information provided in the claim form does not support an award at level 3 of higher, no interview will be offered.

Level 2 marks the threshold between files that will be decided solely on the written record provided by the claimant, and those claims where the Settlement Agreement requires that an Assessor interview the claimant (levels 3 to 6).

To ensure that the Assessor meets all claimants who should receive an interview, the Settlement Agreement provides for a reconsideration mechanism where new evidence or information becomes available that would likely have led the Assessor to grant an interview.

To have a Level 2 assessment reconsidered, the claimant must demonstrate that she has information that was not available when the Independent Assessor’s decision was made, and that this information shows, on reasonable grounds, that the Independent Assessor should interview the claimant before determining the final level of her claim. Medical or other reports created after the claimant receives a decision, will, in most cases not meet the test required by the Settlement Agreement as such reports are generally available to claimants prior to the date of the decision.  If you could have obtained the information prior to the decision it is not new information.

If the Assessor denies your request for reconsideration your claim will be finalized at Level 2 and a decision letter and cheque will be sent to you.  This will close your file.

If your request for reconsideration is allowed, you will be invited to an interview.

If your claim is assessed by the Assessor at Level 5 or Level 6 your current spouse and your children are entitled to make a secondary class claim.  The form will be provided to you along with your decision letter and must be returned to the Office of the Independent Assessor or uploaded to the Independent Assessor’s secure website within 60 days of the decision date (i.e., the date on the decision letter).

To make a secondary class claim you must complete a Secondary class member Claim form for each person.  You must provide government issued photo identification for the secondary class member if he or she is an adult.  You must also provide proof of your relationship with the secondary claimant. This includes, but is not limited to, a separation agreement awarding custody, a birth certificate naming you as a parent, an affidavit stating that you are the parent or current spouse of the secondary claimant, a marriage certificate or proof of cohabitation as common law spouses (bills etc.).  The staff lawyer assigned to your file can confirm whether the proof of your relationship is sufficient.

A secondary class claimant is entitled to a percentage of the award given to the primary claimant to a maximum of 10% total.  If there are more than two secondary claimants, the 10% maximum is divided between them.  For example:

  • One secondary claimant is entitled to 5% of the overall award.
  • Two secondary claimants are entitled to 5 % of overall award each.
  • Three secondary claimants are entitled to 3.33% of the overall award each.
  • Four secondary claimants are entitled to 2.5% each. Etc.

In the May 30, 2017 Settlement Approval Order, the Federal Court awarded class counsel fees of 15% plus applicable taxes.  This also applies to secondary class awards.  Class counsel fees are accordingly deducted from the compensation paid to secondary class claimants.

With the exception of the reconsideration process established for level 2 decisions, the Settlement Agreement clearly states that there is no appeal or judicial review of the Assessors’ decisions.

Once the Assessor has issued a decision the file is closed.

Our office will not respond to complaints about the outcome of a file as we have no information to provide apart from what has already been communicated to you in the Assessor’s decision letter.

The absence of an appeal mechanism provides closure and finality to the assessment process and was agreed to by the representative plaintiffs and the RCMP.

It is important to remember that the claims process established by the Settlement Agreement is not a judicial process; it is a private process designed by the representative plaintiffs and the RCMP to provide class members with an assessment process that does not involve the courts.

This allows claimants to benefit from confidentiality, in a non-adversarial context. The process selected avoids the need for judicial assessments of individual claims, which could have gone on for many years, at a significant cost for the claimants.

The representative plaintiffs and the RCMP agreed to this limitation and have indicated that they have confidence in the Assessor’s judgment and ability to determine claims fairly.

The Assessor’s office cannot provide legal or tax advice. You should seek advice from a lawyer or a financial professional in your home province/territory.

All information submitted and created by the Independent Assessor and his office will be disposed of 6 months after the last payment is made under the Settlement Agreement.

Questions sur l’évaluateur supplémentaire

Afin d’accélérer le processus de réclamation, un évaluateur supplémentaire a été nommé pour mener les entrevues. Les entrevues avec les réclamantes, qui se trouvent partout au Canada, exigent beaucoup de temps et prolongent le traitement des réclamations.

Les parties avaient estimé initialement un potentiel de 1 000 réclamations en vertu de l’entente de règlement Merlo Davidson. À la fin de la prolongation de la période de réclamation, le Bureau de l’évaluateur indépendant avait reçu plus de 3 100 réclamations. Le processus de réclamation ainsi que la dotation du personnel du Bureau avaient été planifiés en fonction de l’estimation initiale prévue. Or, constatant que le volume de réclamations attendues avait triplé, l’évaluateur indépendant a jugé qu’il avait besoin de renfort pour que le processus de traitement des plaintes soit mené dans les meilleurs délais possibles. Les parties à l’entente ont donc convenu de proposer la nomination de Me Smith qui a été approuvée par la Cour fédérale, conformément à l’article 6.03 de l’entente de règlement.

L’Honorable Lynn Smith, c.r. a été juge à la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique. > Pour plus d’information

Non. L’Honorable Michel Bastarache, c.c., c.r., demeure l’évaluateur indépendant responsable de l’administration du processus de réclamation et de l’évaluation des réclamations. Il va continuer à procéder à l’examen des documents de la trousse de la demande pour tous les dossiers des réclamantes et il déterminera celles qui doivent être convoquées en entrevue. Il va aussi continuer à mener des entrevues partout au Canada.

Questions sur le processus de réclamation

Si vous n’avez pas encore reçu de lettre ou de courriel confirmant réception de votre réclamation, nous vous invitons à contacter notre Bureau par courriel info@merlodavidson.ca ou par téléphone 1-844-348-0776.

Les réclamations sont traitées en ordre chronologique sauf dans le cas d’une requête pour traitement accélérée avec justification médicale. Nous traitons en ce moment des réclamations reçues en mi-janvier 2018. Quand un dossier est assigné, l’avocat qui fait l’examen préliminaire vous fait parvenir une confirmation par courriel.

En plus du formulaire de réclamation dûment complété et de la déclaration signée par vous-même et votre témoin, toutes les réclamantes doivent fournir une pièce d’identité avec photo émise par un gouvernement, un formulaire d’Attestation d’absence d’indemnités antérieures signé devant témoin ainsi que l’Autorisation et ordre de communiquer des renseignements. 

Si vous n’avez pas inclus tous ces documents dans votre dossier de réclamation, vous devez les télécharger sur le site sécurisé en ligne ou les poster au Bureau de l’évaluateur indépendant dès que possible.

Lorsque votre dossier est assigné, l’avocat(e) qui révisera votre dossier vérifiera si tous les documents requis sont présents. Si tel n’est pas le cas, il ou elle vous contactera pour vous demander de nous faire parvenir l’information manquante. L’évaluation de votre dossier ne commencera seulement lorsque tous les documents obligatoires auront été reçus.

L’Attestation d’absence d’indemnités antérieures et l’Autorisation et ordre de communiquer des renseignements sont disponibles sur notre site Internet.

Le site sécurisé en ligne est sensible aux majuscules et minuscules. Veuillez inscrire votre mot de passe toujours de la même façon que vous l’avez enregistré au départ. Toutefois si vous n’arrivez pas à restaurer votre mot de passe, SVP contacter notre Bureau : info@merlodavidson.ca.

Lorsque votre réclamation est assignée pour révision, l’avocat(e) au dossier doit confirmer que votre dossier est complet, que vous êtes un membre du groupe principal, que vous ne vous êtes pas exclue du recours collectif et que vous n’avez pas reçu d’indemnités antérieures. Il ou elle vous enverra un courriel confirmant que votre dossier a été assigné. Votre dossier sera ensuite transmis à l’évaluateur indépendant, qui révisera votre formulaire de réclamation et procédera à une évaluation de votre dossier sur la base des incidents et des informations que vous avez soumis.

Le traitement des réclamations peut être accéléré seulement si des considérations médicales exigent un traitement plus rapide de la réclamation. Pour faire une telle requête, vous devez nous envoyer votre requête par courriel ou par la poste, avec documentation médicale à l’appui.

L’avocat(e) assigné(e) à votre dossier vous contactera pour planifier votre entrevue.

L’entrevue est une procédure non-accusatoire qui permet aux réclamantes de raconter leur histoire à l’évaluateur qui peut poser des questions et demander des clarifications sur des éléments du formulaire de réclamation qui ne seraient pas clairs. Il ne s’agit pas d’un contre-interrogatoire. L’entrevue est menée sur une base informelle et elle n’a aucunement comme objectif de revictimiser les réclamantes, bien au contraire. L’objectif de l’entrevue est de donner aux réclamantes l’occasion de discuter de leur expérience et des impacts qu’elle a eus sur leurs vies. Si elle le souhaite, la réclamante peut choisir d’être accompagnée d’une personne de soutien mais pas d’un avocat.  Seulement l l’évaluateur et un(e) avocat(e) interne du Bureau seront présents à l’entrevue. Dans la plupart des cas, l’entrevue dure environ une heure.

Les réclamantes qui doivent effectuer un déplacement de plus de 50 kilomètres pour se présenter à l’entrevue peuvent demander un remboursement de leurs dépenses de voyage en complétant la Demande de frais de voyage. L’entente de règlement stipule que les Directives sur les voyages du Conseil national mixte s’appliquent.

Veuillez fournir vos reçus de taxis, de transport, de stationnement, d’hôtels, de traversiers, etc. Les reçus pour les repas ne sont pas nécessaires car les dépenses pour les repas sont remboursés sur la base d’un « per diem ». Les directives sur les voyages du Conseil national mixte fixent les tarifs par kilomètre pour les déplacements en auto.

On vous demande aussi d’indiquer votre numéro de dossier sur votre formulaire de dépenses de voyage ainsi que dans toute communication avec le Bureau de l’évaluateur indépendant qui serait reliée à votre réclamation de dépenses.

Les réclamations de dépenses de voyage peuvent être envoyées par courriel ou téléversées dans votre dossier sécurisé en ligne (veuillez aviser l’avocat assigné à votre dossier que vous avez téléversé votre réclamation en ligne sur le site sécurisé).

Les dépenses de voyage des personnes accompagnant la réclamante ne sont pas remboursables.

Selon l’entente de règlement, le Bureau de l’évaluateur indépendant a la responsabilité d’effectuer le paiement des compensations. À la fin de chaque mois, l’évaluateur indépendant fait une requête de fonds à la GRC. Suite à cette demande, la GRC prend habituellement un maximum de sept jours ouvrables pour transférer les fonds à l’évaluateur indépendent. Suite au dépôt de l’argent dans son compte en fiducie, l’évaluateur indépendant émet un chèque aux réclamantes en fonction de la décision rendue dans leur dossier durant le mois précédent. À titre d’exemple, une réclamante rencontrée en entrevue au mois de mai pourrait s’attendre de recevoir une décision et une compensation au milieu du mois suivant, soit en juin.

Il en va de même pour une réclamation de dépenses de voyage reçue au début d’un mois de calendrier :  elle sera remboursée seulement dans le mois suivant. De façon générale, nous avisons les réclamantes que le paiement prendra environ 6 semaines.

Si une réclamante est représentée, la lettre de décision et le chèque seront envoyés à son avocat(e) qui est alors responsable de les transmettre à la réclamante.

Le 30 mai 2017, La Cour fédérale a ordonnée l’approbation du règlement. Cette ordonnance a également accordé des honoraires de 15 % (plus taxes applicables) aux avocats agissant au nom du groupe. En conséquence, toute compensation accordée dans le cadre de l’entente de règlement se voit déduire un montant de 15 % (plus taxes applicables) du montant total de la compensation accordée. Ce pourcentage est déduit même pour les réclamantes représentées par un(e) autre avocat(e).

Questions sur les décisions rendues

L’évaluateur indépendant est lié par les définitions et les critères d’admissibilité prescrits par l’entente de règlement ; il ne peut accorder de compensation lorsqu’une réclamation ne s’inscrit pas dans les termes de l’entente. La plupart du temps, si vous avez reçu une lettre vous refusant une compensation, c’est parce que votre réclamation ne satisfaisait pas à l’une ou à plusieurs des exigences suivantes de l’entente de règlement :

  • La réclamante doit démontrer qu’il est plus probable qu’improbable que les événements allégués se sont produits et, le cas échéant, qu’ils se sont produits au milieu de travail ou en rapport avec celui-ci, entre le 16 septembre 1974 et le 30 mai 2017 ;
  • Les événements qui se sont produits doivent correspondre à la définition du harcèlement que l’on trouve à l’article 1.01 de l’entente de règlement, c’est-à-dire, plus précisément, qu’ils doivent être le résultat d’une discrimination ou de harcèlement basé sur le genre ou l’orientation sexuelle ;
  • Que la nature et la gravité du préjudice subi par la réclamante résulte du harcèlement qui a été constaté, ou que cet harcèlement a contribué à la gravité du préjudice subi, et non par quelque autre cause comme un événement traumatisant survenu dans la vie personnelle ou du harcèlement qui n’est pas basé sur le genre ou l’orientation sexuelle ;
  • Que le niveau de compensation accordée soit conforme à l’appendice 7 de l’annexe B de l’entente de règlement.

L’entente de règlement stipule que « l’évaluateur peut rejeter une réclamation si la preuve n’en a pas été faite ou si les événements évoqués ne constituent pas du harcèlement ». Si les incidents décrits dans votre réclamation ne sont pas suffisamment graves pour répondre aux les critères de la définition de harcèlement ou qu’ils ne sont pas directement liés à votre genre ou à votre orientation sexuelle, la réclamation sera refusée.

Voici d’autres motifs justifiant un refus de verser une compensation:

  • La réclamante a soumis plus d’un formulaire de réclamation;
  • La réclamante a déjà reçu une compensation financière pour les mêmes incidents;
  • La réclamante n’est pas ou n’était pas -au moment où les gestes de harcèlement ont été posés- membre du groupe principal. À titre d’exemple : le réclamant est un homme; la réclamante est décédée; la réclamante n’était pas un membre régulier, un membre civil ou une employée de la fonction publique tel que défini dans l’entente de règlement.
  • La réclamante s’est exclue du recours collectif ou elle a été jugée exclue par défaut d’avoir interrompu les poursuites judiciaires amorcées.
  • La personne responsable du harcèlement n’était pas un employé de le GRC étant, par exemple, un consultant ou un membre du public.

Si vous avez reçu une décision où l’on refuse de vous verser une compensation, cela veut dire que l’évaluateur a évalué votre réclamation conformément à l’entente de règlement et qu’il a évalué que l’un ou plusieurs éléments requis par l’entente de règlement sont absents ou n’ont pas été prouvés. L’évaluateur est tenu par l’entente de règlement de refuser votre réclamation dans de tels cas.

Toutes les évaluations finales sont faites par l’évaluateur indépendant, après avoir étudié l’information et les preuves fournies par la réclamante.  Cette évaluation est uniquement basée sur l’information et les preuves fournies par la réclamante.  Des incidents ou préjudices qui ne sont pas clairement incluses par la réclamante ne peuvent pas être considérés.

L’évaluateur indépendant évalue les réclamations en fonction des niveaux de comportements répréhensibles et de la gravité du tort subi et des niveaux de compensation prévus à l’entente de règlement.

L’information que vous avez fournie dans votre formulaire de réclamation relativement aux comportements et à la gravité du tort que vous avez subi correspond au niveau 1 (ou au niveau 2).

En vertu du processus de réclamation prévu à l’entente de règlement, l’évaluateur indépendant doit faire une évaluation du niveau de la réclamation sur la base de la trousse de demande de la réclamante et les documents soumis.

Seules les réclamations évaluées de manière préliminaire au niveau 3 ou plus donnent droit à une entrevue. Cette approche est conforme à l’objectif de proportionnalité auquel ont consenti les représentantes des demandeurs et la GRC. L’évaluation d’une réclamation ne doit pas entraîner une complexité et un coût supérieurs au montant accordé en compensation.

Les réclamations évaluées de manière préliminaire comme étant de niveau 1 ou de niveau 2 sont évaluées sur la base de la documentation fournie. Si l’information fournie ne justifie pas un niveau de compensation de 3 ou plus, il n’y aura pas d’entrevue.

Le niveau 2 est le seuil qui sépare les réclamations qui seront évaluées uniquement sur la base de la documentation écrite fournie par la réclamante de celles pour lesquelles l’évaluateur doit convoquer la réclamante en entrevue, comme prévu à l’entente de règlement pour les réclamations des niveaux 3 à 6.

Pour assurer que l’évaluateur rencontre en entrevue toutes les réclamantes qui devraient l’être, l’entente de règlement prévoit un mécanisme de réexamen dans les cas où de nouvelles preuves justifiant que la réclamante soit convoquée en entrevue soient disponibles.

 

Pour obtenir un réexamen d’une décision de niveau 2, la réclamante doit démontrer qu’elle a une nouvelle information qui n’était pas disponible au moment où l’évaluateur indépendant a rendu sa décision et que cette information démontre des bases suffisamment pertinentes pour faire valoir que l’évaluateur indépendant devrait convoquer la réclamante en entrevue avant de finaliser son évaluation. Dans la plupart des cas, les rapports médicaux (et autres) produits après que la réclamante ait reçu sa décision ne satisferont pas aux critères prescrits dans l’entente de règlement puisque, de façon générale, ces rapports étaient disponibles pour les réclamantes avant la date de la décision. S’il était possible d’obtenir cette information avant la décision, cela ne sera pas considéré comme une nouvelle information.

Si l’évaluateur indépendant refuse votre demande de révision, votre réclamation demeurera au niveau 2 et vous recevrez une lettre de décision ainsi qu’un chèque. Votre dossier sera fermé.

Si votre demande de révision est acceptée, vous serez convoquée en entrevue.

Si l’évaluateur a évalué votre réclamation de niveau 5 ou 6, votre conjoint(e) actuel(le) et vos enfants peuvent faire une réclamation secondaire. Le formulaire requis sera joint à la lettre de décision; vous devrez le remplir et le faire parvenir au Bureau de l’évaluateur indépendant à l’intérieur d’un délai de 60 jours de la date de la lettre de décision.

Pour faire une réclamation secondaire, vous devez remplir un Formulaire de réclamation du membre du groupe secondaire pour chaque réclamant(e). Vous devez fournir une pièce d’identité avec photo émise par un gouvernement pour le réclamant secondaire s’il ou si elle est adulte. Vous devez aussi fournir une preuve de votre relation avec le réclamant secondaire. Cela peut inclure, entre autres, une entente de séparation confirmant la garde de l’enfant, un certificat de naissance confirmant que vous êtes le parent, un affidavit confirmant que vous êtes le parent ou le conjoint du membre secondaire, un certificat de mariage ou une preuve de cohabitation en tant que conjointe de fait (factures, etc.). L’avocat interne assigné à votre dossier par notre Bureau pourra valider si la preuve de votre relation est suffisante.

Les réclamations secondaires sont calculées selon un pourcentage de la compensation attribuée à la réclamante principale jusqu’à un maximum de 10% du total. S’il y a plus que deux réclamants secondaires, le 10% maximal est divisé entre eux. À titre d’exemple :

  • Un réclamant secondaire a droit à 5% du montant total de la compensation principale
  • Deux réclamants secondaires ont chacun droit à 5% du montant total de la compensation principale
  • Trois réclamants secondaires ont chacun droit à 3,33 % du montant total de la compensation principale
  • Quatre réclamants secondaires ont chacun droit à 2,5% du montant total de la compensation
  • etc.

Dans l’ordonnance du 30 mai 2017 qui a approuvé l’entente de règlement, la Cour fédérale a accordé des honoraires de 15 % (plus taxes applicables) aux avocats agissant au nom du groupe. Cela s’applique également à la compensation des réclamants secondaires. Donc, ces honoraires des avocats agissant au nom du groupe sont déduits de la compensation attribuée aux réclamants secondaires.

À part l’exception du processus de réexamen pour les dossiers évalués au niveau 2, l’entente de règlement énonce clairement qu’il ne peut y avoir d’appel ou de contrôle judiciaire des décisions de l’évaluateur indépendant.

Une fois la décision finale de l’évaluateur a été émis, le dossier est fermé.

Notre Bureau ne répondra à aucune plainte au sujet de la conclusion d’un dossier puisque nous n’avons aucune autre information à fournir à part de ce qui vous a été transmis dans la lettre de décision de l’évaluateur.

Les représentantes des demandeurs et la GRC se sont mis d’accord en ce qui concerne cette limitation qui permet de clore définitivement le dossier et de mettre un terme au processus de réclamation.

Il faut rappeler que le processus de réclamation prévu dans l’entente de règlement n’est pas un processus judiciaire ; c’est un processus privé convenu entre les représentantes des demandeurs et la GRC pour permettre une évaluation des réclamations sans avoir recours aux tribunaux.

Ce processus assure aux réclamantes le respect de la confidentialité dans un contexte où l’on évite la confrontation. Il permet d’éviter l’évaluation judiciaire individuelle de chaque réclamation qui auraient entraîné des délais de plusieurs années et des coûts significatifs pour les réclamantes.

Les représentantes des demandeurs et la GRC se sont mis d’accord en ce qui concerne cette limitation et ont exprimé leur confiance envers le jugement de l’évaluateur et envers sa capacité à évaluer équitablement les réclamations.

Le Bureau de l’évaluateur indépendant ne peut pas fournir des conseils juridiques ou fiscaux. Vous devriez demander conseil auprès d’un avocat ou un conseiller financier de votre province ou territoire.

Toute l’information fournie à l’évaluateur indépendant, ou créée par lui ou son Bureau, sera détruite six mois après que le dernier paiement à une réclamante aura été versé.